Jason’s Ranting & Raving

Those who don’t read have no advantage over those who can’t.

The Joy of Parenting: The Art of Manipulation

Posted by jaystile on February 19, 2009

I was working on my laptop and paying bills when my youngest daughter (2yrs) comes up to me and asks, “Can we play games?” I say, “No. Not right now.”

She asks me again, politely this time because that can change the outcome of a request, “Can we please, play games?” She likes to play the games on pbskids.org. She gets to play games with her mom while I and her older sister work on her reading lessons. (Look for an upcoming book review on ‘Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons’ on this blog). Again, dad answers, “No. Not right now, Dad is working.”

She says, “hmmph” and toddles off. My youngest comes back about 20 seconds later, “Would you please, give Sissy her reading lesson?”

“You want me to give your sister her reading lesson right now?”

“uh-huh, would you please?”

“No, I can’t I’m working right now.” It took me a bit to figure it out. She wanted me to give her sister a reading lesson so her and her mom could play games. What a little manipulator! She almost got me too. I was thinking, “Well, maybe I could get half the lesson done before dinner.”

Leave a Reply

 
